In Disorderly Fashion…

Transparency is freedom, so I commit to sharing my story with you.

Easy, Breezy, Beautiful.

Hello and welcome back to my little corner on the internet.

I got some looks and a few thoughts to share per usual.

Some of my favorite style icons lately include Jeanne Damas (whom I recently have been stalking), Julia Sarr Jamois, as well as Freddie Harrel. What do all these women have in common? They are French yes, but what really intrigues me most about all of them is how effortlessly they dress, walk, and carry themselves.

It’s hard to pinpoint what exactly contributes to their blithely posture, but my best guess is that French culture highly values women who display elegance through natural beauty. Or as the French say it, je ne sais quoi. 

They don’t let their clothes wear them. They make their clothing fit their lifestyle however hectic or lackadaisical it may be, always incorporating a signature look that remains classic to their name. When I think of Julia, I think about how her cheetah print boots go hand in hand with her voluptuous fro. I think about Jeanne Damas’ impish eyes crowned by mascara and her finger-applied red pout when I see her wearing Prada pumps and a canary yellow sundress. I picture Freddie Harrel’s cheshire smile while posing in an electric blue jumpsuit reminiscent of the American 80s.

It’s about the woman in the clothes. It’s not about piling on embellishments for the sake of it.

When I think of natural beauty–the first image that comes to mind are flowers. When I bought these flowers and brought it to my office, people were gushing about how beautiful they were. Yet–they didn’t primp and pamper themselves. They just grew like dis. Luke 12: 27 “Consider how the wild flowers grow. They do not labor or spin. Yet I tell you, not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these.

In fashion blogging where the emphasis on being beautiful is constantly advertised by burning through dozens of makeup palettes and buying new clothes every season, sometimes I have to remind myself that just being the person I am is enough and is beautiful enough on my own without the need for embellishments. It’s about the woman inside the dress. Besides, if God created the flowers of the field so beautifully, how much more me?

Yellow Dress: Thrifted.

Choker: Boutique shop.

Shoes: Doc Martens.

All Photos taken by : Ryan Jirapong + Edited: Yours truly.

FOLLOW ME ON INSTA! 

Leave a Reply

Adaobi is a 20 something year old Angeleno that experiments with style based on music and culture. Her style is an ongoing journey, disorderly, she would say.

Follow me on Twitter!

My Insta!

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

