In Disorderly Fashion…

Transparency is freedom, so I commit to sharing my story with you.

California, Let Me Be Great.

Let’s talk about this coat.


dsc02904

It’s my most raved about piece since it debuted on my Instagram last week.

So we are clear–it is thrifted folks. Yes, this is what happens when you remain dedicated and faithful to finding rare pieces of beautiful clothing amongst the heaps of ratty, worn out apparel in thrift stores. As some of you might know, for the most part I’ve given up fast fashion as a main source of shopping. The industry is literally stabbing our planet to death. I don’t want to get on my soapbox, but if you can help it–stop shopping fast fashion too!

Okay, back to the coat. When I first laid eyes on it–there were two thoughts that went through my mind. 1) It’s gorgeous! It’s mine! 2) But it’s California though….

head-on

imma-gee

You see, California has an interesting relationship with winter wear. SoCal never even touches sub zero temperatures, not to talk of even grazing the high 40s. Your weather app could say that it’s going to be 55 degrees and you can come prepared, only to be attacked by the beating hot noonday sun that makes you sweat bullets within your tweed coat. Then we have short stints of rain (although there seems to be a little more than usual this year), and before you know it, beach days come back into full swing. Because the cold is so brief and fickle in nature, no native Californian seems to own a proper pair of winter boots (unless they happen to be from the Bay or a ski aficionado). And it’s not their fault. Most retailers around here distribute non-insulating, incredibly thin polyurethane boots that are absolutely useless the moment the temperature goes below 50 degrees (but it’s a cute style though). We wear hooded sweatshirts paired with flip flops (how strange and unacceptable) and most laughably, we have “peep toe boots” made popular by the head honchess, Kim Kardashian. Sidenote: Only SoCalifornians can get away with peep toe boots in the “winter.”

smolder

But in Adaobi like fashion I don’t conform to the LA/OC winter staple of NorthFace fleeces, and Rainbow flip flops. I will do no such thing. My favorite season of the year is winter because of the versatility of layering and mixing unexpected textures together. So yes, I enjoy wearing stylish, elaborate outerwear to bundle me up for 60 degree nights. I recall a time when I wore my favorite houndstooth peacoat and my friends promptly took it upon themselves to roast me for being “extra.” And in all honesty, I was probably being extra. I still feel extra on this campus when it comes to fashion in general. I’m also probably living on the wrong side of the country. (New York 2018???????)

dsc02991

dsc02997

 

In turn, because of the experience of being personally flambéed by my wonderful circle of friends, there was a little bit of PTSD that came with buying this camel coat. However, the $10 price tag spoke volumes more. So I’m going to wear it as much as I can. California, let me be great please. Thanks.

oooo

Photos were taken by the lovely Ryan Jirapong.

xx

-A

Follow me on Instagram and Twitter!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Adaobi is a 20 something year old Angeleno that experiments with style based on music and culture. Her style is an ongoing journey, disorderly, she would say.

Follow me on Twitter!

My Insta!

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

