In Disorderly Fashion…

Transparency is freedom, so I commit to sharing my story with you.

Mismatch It!

“Uh, you sure this matches?” my sister eyed my outfit suspiciously before we went out to snap some shots of it.

Instantly, I was propelled back to my 8 year old self–remembering the feeling I had when my 3rd grade classmates would ask the same question while examining my blue jeans and rainbow turtleneck disdainfully. (Mind you, now I know that such an outfit is a bit outlandish, even for me, but this anecdote goes to show you that fashion risks, no matter how terrible they may be, pave the way for one to eventually unearth their own signature style.)

Despite my slight hesitation to my sister’s comment, I promptly decided I didn’t care.

_mg_0107

_mg_0097

This turtleneck was taken straight out of my mother’s early 90s closet as you could probably tell. I immediately fell in love with the candy striped pattern of the top, knowing that this piece alone could make the most mundane looking outfit whimsical and somewhat eccentric. A common remark I hear from people is that they don’t know what looks good, or how to make their style more defined. My advice is this: Stop scrolling through the monochromatic, selfie ridden, #OOTD laden Instagram newsfeeds for one second, go to your closet, pick up one piece of clothing, and think of at least 5 ways you could creatively wear it.

_mg_0095

The purple scarf was an added touch. An interesting touch, gifted to me by a good friend (Hi Rachel!)

_mg_0121

That’s my secret. Funnily enough, when my mind is bombarded by a bunch of images of other people’s styles, I lose inspiration. It’s usually when I just take an extra five minutes in the morning to stare into the cluttered abyss that is my closet, that I finally figure out something. My motto has always been and always will be that I would rather look like a crazy fool, than a basic Betty. California has a million north face wearing, ugg boot kickin’, pumpkin spice latte holding folks out here. Who has the time? Let me add to the discourse of clothing choices, by giving you something to double take at–even if it’s a doubtful double take.

xx

-A

Follow me on Instagram and Twitter!

Leave a Reply

Adaobi is a 20 something year old Angeleno that experiments with style based on music and culture. Her style is an ongoing journey, disorderly, she would say.

Follow me on Twitter!

My Insta!

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

