In Disorderly Fashion…

Transparency is freedom, so I commit to sharing my story with you.

Ethics + Aesthetics

Two posts in one day! Woo, I’m on a roll here. But I felt the need to explain a few things.

For one, I am changing the way that I view fashion and how I want to use this platform that is called my blog. Aside from styling being a hobby, I want to become more intentional about the messages I send, since I am a “fashion blogger”. I don’t want to be the messenger of over-consumption, unsustainable habits, and unreal, manicured depictions of who I am.

So what does this mean for my blog? Not sure yet. But as I go along, the ideas will keep coming to me. I’m learning to trust the process.

the true cost

For one, I have a resolution that I silently made many months ago, but was afraid to publicly come out and have my audience hold me accountable. And that is to no longer being a shopper of fast fashion retailers. I watched a documentary called The True Cost and I was really challenged to think about my spending habits and what sort of industry I am supplanting. As a believer of Christ, my views are that people are made in the image of God and therefore deserve to be treated with dignity and respect. From what I could understand in the documentary, my cravings for a new pair of shoes from Zara, directly affected the lifestyles of a many poor citizens in Bangladesh and other countries these suppliers outsource to. So if anyone knows a bit about this interesting journey with Christ, you know that “dying to your flesh” is a major key alert. And I had to implement it in this area of my life so that I can learn to built more sustainable habits when it comes to purchasing apparel.

Hows it been going? So far, so good. I’ve been an avid thrifter since high school so it’s not as difficult. Although, I’m little nervous about how I’m going to be shopping for shoes, not a fan of used shoes…but luckily I already have 20 pairs to juggle and style around. What would be really wonderful is if you guys could comment below or message me with amazing thrift stores in LA. Now that Depop and Poshmark will be my only “online” stores I will be shopping at, I need some in-person stores to balance it all out!

xx

-A

Follow me on Insta && Twitter!

 

2 comments on “Ethics + Aesthetics

  1. aliveperson
    June 15, 2016

    Idk if they’re in LA but Savers is pretty good! If you take clothes to them to donate they give coupons for the store. ^_^

    • Adaobi
      June 15, 2016

      I scourged the internet for a Savers in LA and couldn’t seem to find one! I’ll try again, thanks!

Leave a Reply

Adaobi is a 20 something year old Angeleno that experiments with style based on music and culture. Her style is an ongoing journey, disorderly, she would say.

Follow me on Twitter!

My Insta!

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

