In Disorderly Fashion…

Transparency is freedom, so I commit to sharing my story with you.

Simplicity && Modernism

Lazy summer time outfits include dresses. Why? Because there is no need for layering… or worse, putting on pants. I like to keep it simple. I was walking back to my house the other day in a pair of my black skinny jeans and realized how I am so over the skinny jean era. Yes, I will continue to own all the pairs I have just for the sake of the winter time, but I am finding myself journeying towards the dresses/ trousers section online or in retail chains. Also, as I mentioned 2 or 3 posts ago, I am working on building a closet capsule of clothing that I can build on. This dress is definitely going to be a part of it. I know at least 3 ways to wear it–and I was going to showcase 3 ways to dress a basic white tee  up or down, but the weather was so sweltering hot when I had this shoot, that the thought of making outfit changes sounded more tiring that usual. As much as I complained about my minimalism endeavors last time, I am finding it to be somewhat rewarding. It forces me to be more innovative when creating outfits. This all white outfit is something that I would casually wear on a day on the town and even to class. White reflects sunlight and keeps you cool–and I am all about staying chill during 90 degree weather.

_MG_7053

_MG_7054

_MG_7089

_MG_7112

_MG_7131

_MG_7138

_MG_7149

Dress shirt: Forever 21/Shoes: Adidas Superstars/Sunnies: Quay Australia

P.S. I had an appointment to re-twist my hair in a few days so I decided to Amandla Stenberg my hair by chopping it off and playing around with the frayed ends. As most black women know, the first protocol to removing braids means, chopping the ends off for the ease of take down. By chopping it off, days before we rock a new style is almost pre-rocking a new style before the actual new style. Amandla has been quite the trend setter lately, and I’m curious to see how she  will continue to redefine black beauty on social media.

xx

-A

2 comments on “Simplicity && Modernism

  1. akeallahb
    August 22, 2015

    I’m really feeling the hair

Leave a Reply

Adaobi is a 20 something year old Angeleno that experiments with style based on music and culture. Her style is an ongoing journey, disorderly, she would say.

Follow me on Twitter!

My Insta!

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

