In Disorderly Fashion…

Transparency is freedom, so I commit to sharing my story with you.

I’m No Clone.

Here’s the deal. I love clothing. But I move once a year. So that means every year the amount of clothing somehow still increases as my frequency of moving continues to remain steady. It seems like no matter how many times I make the trek to Goodwill to donate, I still manage to negate my donation by adding in whatever I gave away. Something that I’ve been researching lately is minimalism–in terms of having a capsule closet of basic clothing that I can go and will easily style with anything I put on. It’s less strain on the wallet and less of a hassle to pack. The problem? My style is not that simple. I’m eclectic. I like bold prints and patterns. Funky cuts and styles. I have yet to find a fashionista that manages to keep her unique style without morphing into a white tee and black culottes clone. (That is basically Instagram right now). Anyway, I ordered a pair of sneakers because I only own boots and platforms (which is slightly ridiculous) and sometimes you just can’t be bothered to wear boots or heels on these hot sweltering days. Ask anyone, I’ve been wearing these shoes everyday since I got them. I now understand the hype. The white socks are meant to elongate the white coming off the shoes in order to give the illusion of my legs being elongated (as if they’re not already long enough, says the 5’9′ girl who only wears platforms).

_MG_6948 edited

_MG_6958 edited

 

_MG_6965 edited

_MG_6966 edited

_MG_6970

 

Shades: Quay Australia

Sneakers: Adidas Superstars

Shirtdress: Thrifted

xx

Also thank you to all who read my last post and replied and messaged. It got more views than my average fashion post! Excited to see what else God will do through this blog.

-A

2 comments on “I’m No Clone.

  1. Larissa
    July 30, 2015

    Hi, Adaobi…I’m enjoying following your blog 🙂

    I’ve been wearing a capsule wardrobe for several months, and love it. It’s mostly minimalist and classic, with a few bold prints to add my personal style. For instance, I’m currently wearing black shorts, black tank top, and a sleeveless tunic with black & white Indian elephant print. Every few months I reassess my capsule, and switch around a few items.

    • Adaobi
      July 30, 2015

      Ahh, thanks for following Larissa! 🙂 I think that’s what I’m going to have to do. Re-asses every couple of months because I NEED those prints in my life! thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

Adaobi is a 20 something year old Angeleno that experiments with style based on music and culture. Her style is an ongoing journey, disorderly, she would say.

Follow me on Twitter!

My Insta!

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

