In Disorderly Fashion…

Transparency is freedom, so I commit to sharing my story with you.

Summer Lookbook: #1

I’m going to be honest, when it comes to summer outfits I’m lazy and overheated. When the sun is high in the sky, I am less inclined to layer too much like I usually do and so there is nothing more gratifying than putting on a romper or dress and feeling 100 percent put together. However, I figured when making this post, it’d be easy to style a dress/romper with some sandals or boots and I wanted to challenge myself a little this summer with the small closet (shout out to all college students living that nomadic life!)  that I have while keeping my style.

This summer I have been keeping my eye out on two things. Hats and bags. I have found that the right hat and handbag will immediately determine the slay factor of an outfit.

red 003

 

red 005

 

red 006

 

This is by far my favorite bag. My ex-roommate Jee, (shoutout to being the best roommate ever!) decided that this bag would be her parting gift when she went back to Korea. The pop of red and the square structure add so much flair to an otherwise simple outfit. Probably will be wearing this bag till it falls off my shoulder.

red 025

 

red 028

Like I mentioned in my May Favorites post, most of my clothes are put in storage and so I kept basic pieces to be creative with. My white London tee from F21 is one my favorite tops not only because it’s white and white is a great reflector of the sun, but its also really easy to style with denim anything. Today, acid wash denim tomorrow, a denim skirt (coming soon).

red 018

 

red 054

 

I said that the fedora would be rocked shamelessly. I have worn this hat one too many times in the last month but I LOVE it. This hat literally sets the tone for this whole outfit giving it somewhat of a smart, European, vibe that attracts me. Even though it’s summer and bright colors are the staple, I really enjoy contradictory and offsetting looks, clothes, and accessories that go against a trend.

red 012

 

red 023

 

red 041

This was my photographer for the day, Michelle. She is such a mooohhhdehhhll.

This was my photographer for the day, Michelle. She is such a mooohhhdehhhll.

red 064

 

Important note:  So I was chosen to be a part of this awesome June campaign called the “Closet Swap” with this startup company, Raise, to talk about my transition styles into summer! They are a website/marketplace where you can buy and/or sell giftcards. Got an old H&M gift card that you never used? (give it to me) Sell it on Raise.com. Looking for a giftcard to give as a graduation present? Raise is the place to go! Super excited to share with you guys this news–also share this post on Facebook, Twitter, Insta, all the social media galore!

xx

-A

Follow me on Tumblr and Instgram. You’ll thank me later 🙂

Leave a Reply

Adaobi is a 20 something year old Angeleno that experiments with style based on music and culture. Her style is an ongoing journey, disorderly, she would say.

Follow me on Twitter!

My Insta!

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

