In Disorderly Fashion…

Transparency is freedom, so I commit to sharing my story with you.

Positive Message Monday: Ode to my Leather Jacket

This PMM is going to be dedicated to my  leather jacket.

There were 3 things that I was able to do this break and they were:

1. Listen to music–Particularly the Arctic Monkeys because Alex Turner’s voice is like honey in my tea.

2. Catch up on my Youtube fashion/beauty gurus

3. Peruse through Lookbook in search of inspiration.

I came out of the break with a re-inspired outlook on how I want to style myself. Even though the weather is getting warmer, the leather jacket paired with anything is timeless. For the past couple of weeks I’ve felt particularly influenced and empowered by the clothes I’ve been wearing and the music I have been listening to and I hadn’t realized how both were correlating. I would pop in my earbuds and throw on my leather jacket on my way to work and inevitably find my posture straightening out and my walk turning into a stride. I felt tough. Individualized. Counter-cultural.

I did a little history on the leather jacket. It was created originally for functionality. Pilots wore them during the first world war. Then it became a popular choice of outerwear in the 1930s for bikers. Then in the 1950s the jacket was adopted during the birth of the greaser sub-culture which signified rebellion and anti-establishment. Then more recently was the Grunge movement of the 1980s that consisted of crop tops, oversized jackets, and of course, leather jackets. Decades later, the cuts and styles to this article of clothing are endless, but nothing can take away the cool, individualistic, avant garde nature to the jacket.

Whenever I put it on while listening to a good rock song blaring through my ears, I feel as if there is no one to talk or bring me down. On this bleak Monday where the sky is overcast and everyone’s mood seems to be taking a dip, I’m feeling especially empowered and strong. What about all of you? What article of clothing makes you feel empowered and invincible? Let me know in the comments below! 🙂

Happy Monday!

Follow me on Twitter. I tweet about my music almost all the time.

-A

 

Leave a Reply

Adaobi is a 20 something year old Angeleno that experiments with style based on music and culture. Her style is an ongoing journey, disorderly, she would say.

Follow me on Twitter!

My Insta!

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

