In Disorderly Fashion…

Transparency is freedom, so I commit to sharing my story with you.

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles.

When I was younger, I was a huge tomboy. I enjoyed playing all the rough games outside like wrestling or extreme tag, and enjoyed trying to do extreme stunts on my roller blades and bike. I have a number of bruises and scars to show for that period in life. But when I wasn’t outside trying to test my life, I’d be tuned into Toonami (the old prime time on Cartoon Network that came on around 8pm ish) watching all the little boy cartoons like Dragon Ball Z and Yu Gi Oh. Among those shows was the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles (TMNT). Donatello (the one with the purple headband) was my all-time favorite!

So while I was online shopping casually through Forever 21 one day, I saw the t-shirt and suddenly had the urge to buy it. It sat in my closet for about a week before I decided how I wanted to make it’s debut.

Donatello

As you can see, Donatello is repping under Leonardo.

 

The shirt came in as a muscle tee, so the sides of the shirt are elongated making it necessary for one to throw on a bandeau to hide the goodies! Muscle tees mind me of the 90s grunge era, so I decided that with my doc martens I was going to settle for this look for the day. And to be honest, most of the time when I’m not glammed up, this is something you’ll probably find me sporting because I have a thing this year about  wearing all black . It’s just a really versatile and simple color and that can easily pass off as a casual everyday look or formal. Plus it gives you the chance to add signature colors to your outfit if you have all black attire.

xxx photos and videos 015 LIKE MY DOCS!!!!

If you haven’t guessed by now, you already know that I have an obsession with doc martens. I got these babies last June and it’s going to be a year in 3 months. You know it’s real when I’m anticipating an anniversary. When I first got them, I have to be honest–they were brand new and breaking them in was a PAIN. The material is not thin and pliable at all. But once you break them in (it took about 3 months of consecutive wearing) they begin to fit like second skin and what’s more is that they’ll last you forever. These are wonderful boots, they go with literally everything turning a plain look into an interesting one. Wear it with dresses, skirts, jeans…etc etc

xxx photos and videos 016

 

And last here is my African bracelet that I snagged at a swap meet last summer. I love the richness of the brown tones and the beads and since the time I bought it, I’ve been wearing it practically everyday (as you can see on the slight wear on one of the bead line). It usually gives my outfits an interesting flair of my African roots and so I really enjoy pairing it with any OOTD that looks to boring or plain.

 

xxx photos and videos 022

Woot! Tell me what is your favorite piece of jewelry? Do you have any cartoon tees that you hold dear? Go to shoes for everyday occasions? Tell me the comment section, I want to hear more about you guys. 🙂

Oh, and follow me on Twitter. The fun doesn’t stop here!

-A

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Adaobi is a 20 something year old Angeleno that experiments with style based on music and culture. Her style is an ongoing journey, disorderly, she would say.

Follow me on Twitter!

My Insta!

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

