In Disorderly Fashion…

Transparency is freedom, so I commit to sharing my story with you.

Positive Message Monday: Heels!

Another week, another $7. (Because of the saying another day, another dollar. Get it? No? Ok.)

Happy Monday all! I don’t know about you, but it took me one heck of a minute to force my body out of bed so that I can get ready for work. After half an hour,  I finally managed to lunge myself to the floor and carry on with my morning routine. While I was brushing my teeth, I was doing my daily check up on my face, admiring the naturalness of my skin, contours of my bones, and the roundness of my eyes. I felt like it was only fair to talk about self-esteem this day since I think we can all reasonably agree that everybody needs a pick me up to start off the week.

I ended up finding this awesome article on the correlation between high heels and self-confidence. There was a study that showed that British women who wear an average of about 3.3 inches in heels to work are more confident and more assertive. Apparently they also wear higher heels than their neighboring countries such as Spain and Denmark. I believe it! I’m sure when there’s that special night out that you’re planning to attend to and you finish off your outfit with a kick-ass pair of heels you can’t help but to give yourself a 10. I hope that’s not just me.

So, the moral of the story? To wear heels everyday for the rest of my life in order to obtain confidence? No, obviously not–that’d be dangerous. (We can talk about the dangers of high heels to women’s bodies but that definitely won’t be on a PMM post). I think that the article points to heels, but I think we can see that heels only give us the appearance of being taller, and stronger. What really changes is what goes on inside of us while we put on these shoes. I believe the point is to harness whatever positive feelings you get when you put on heels, when you put on makeup, or when you put on a pretty cocktail dress and re-direct it on to your everyday life when you’re not necessarily prettied up.

So while you might be in a t-shirt and jeans, or your daily business casual clothes for work, smile big, walk tall, and talk confidently as if you were in your “night out” clothing. It’s definitely a challenge to incorporate into a daily routine, but I believe that that’s a challenge worth working towards. We’re talking about self esteem here!

Click here to read the article.

-A

Follow me on Twitter!

8 comments on “Positive Message Monday: Heels!

  1. liliandruve
    February 10, 2014

    Happy Monday to you toooo!

  2. anacruiz10
    February 10, 2014

    Well said! Thank you very much for sharing this and including self-esteem as the start to our week!

  3. H. E. Lexus
    February 10, 2014

    High heels forever and always! Even with the odd stares I get in heels, I feel more confident. Everything can be rough on a body if over done or not done correctly. High heels are no different. 😉

    • indisorderlyfashion
      February 11, 2014

      LOL, true there are times when heels are overdone. Perhaps say, when I see my fellow students hopping to class in their 6 inches because they thought it was going to be a sunny day.

Leave a Reply

Adaobi is a 20 something year old Angeleno that experiments with style based on music and culture. Her style is an ongoing journey, disorderly, she would say.

Follow me on Twitter!

My Insta!

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

