In Disorderly Fashion…

Transparency is freedom, so I commit to sharing my story with you.

New Year Thoughts.

Happy New Year from Nigeria!  Although I’m not there at the moment,  my family has been in the celebratory mood for a while now! Lol.

Anywhoo,

With the countdown of 2013, I have done a good amount of reflecting for what I want 2014 to be like.  Mind you, I’m really not that big of a “new years resolution” type of gal, but I do see the inherent value of visioning a better life for yourself during various points in life’s journey.

However, as I reflect on the character of 2014, I get the feeling of hope. Life is still moving–slowly on some days, quickly on others–but nonetheless moving. Amidst the movement is a sense of hope. I feel like 2014 is a year where people will realize that they are at a crossroads of making life changing decisions. A decision to either follow their true calling and passion.  Another person coined it as 2014 being the year of finally meeting your destiny or your ultimate calling in life.

Maybe that feeling of hope that I get for 2014 is actually quite limited to myself and the small circle of people that I know. However, I’d like to think that it is a blanket feeling for everyone because I’ve been really getting a strong confirmation lately about what I feel.  It has actually spun me into a whirlwind of inspiration to get back to writing, taking photos, and just plain enjoying what I do. I forgot those concepts two years ago and finding it again is like unwrapping the ULTIMATE Christmas present, only, the feeling is longer lasting. I’ve been watching people around me grow and finally step into themselves, into their passions. I’ve seen others continue to get back up and persevere even though all the odds aren’t in their favor. This inspires me.

Let’s take for example one of my favorite Youtubers Olan Rogers. I’ve been watching him for a couple of years now and while Youtube has changed tremendously and while I’ve seen (unfortunately) many video makers sell out to Youtube, he’s remained the same. Same passions, same goals. And despite the changes that happen around him, and all the ups and downs he goes through, he is a man of perseverance and the fruits of his labor are beginning to blossom. He has vision and despite his lack of experience in some of the things that he tries to do (which he willingly admits), he continues to push to make the stuff he sees in his dreams a tangible reality. He posted a video just two days ago about some of his experiences and it seriously touched me. It reminded me why I am writing again. It reminded me of the vision of myself that I was told to bury a long time ago. It doesn’t matter who reads my writing or who notices me. I should do it because I love it. I’ve spent a good portion of my life trying to fit into the mold and this video reminds me of why I am striving to run away from it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qA9G3w8PAwg

There are so many other inspirational people that I could blog about but that could be another ramble for another day. I really hope 2014 is a year where I can step fully into my calling. Forget the negativity and move forward. In the meantime, have a wonderful New Year and stay safe!

-A

Leave a Reply

Adaobi is a 20 something year old Angeleno that experiments with style based on music and culture. Her style is an ongoing journey, disorderly, she would say.

Follow me on Twitter!

My Insta!

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

